FRANKLIN COUNTY FISCAL COURT DECEMBER 17, 2010 9:00 A.M. WORK SESSION/10:00 A.M. COURT

Franklin County Fiscal Court met on Friday, December 17, 2010 in the Fiscal Court Room at 321 West Main Street, Frankfort, KY. The meeting was called to order at 10:03 a.m. with Judge Ted Collins presiding. The following members of Fiscal Court were present: Squire Jill Robinson, Squire Phillip Kring, Squire Don Sturgeon, Squire Pat Fannin, Squire Huston Wells, Squire Lambert Moore. County Attorney Rick Sparks was in attendance.

Following roll call and pledge of allegiance, Road Department employee Christopher S. Patrick was recognized and presented a plaque for having completed Road Master Training Certification sponsored by the University of Kentucky Transportation Center.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Fannin, that the reading of the minutes of the meeting on November 23, 2010 be dispensed with and approved. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to approve Resolution #34-2010, authorizing the filing of an application for the 2010-2011 Kentucky Department for Environmental Protection, Division of Waste Management, Waste Tire Grant Program and designating the County Judge/Executive to execute all documents pertaining to this grant. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Robinson, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to approve the appointment of Rex Fowler to the Capital Community Economic/Industrial Development Authority for a term beginning January 1, 2011 and ending December 31, 2114, replacing Tommy Thompson whose term expires December 31, 2010. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to approve the appointment of Pat Fannin and re-appointment of Church Quarles and Harold Robinson to the Peaks Mill Water District. Ms. Fannings term will begin January 1, 2011 and end December 31, 2011, filling the unexpired term of Lowell Clark who resigned effective December 31, 2010. Church Quarles will be re-appointed for a term beginning January 1, 2011 and ending December 31, 2014; and Harold Robinson will be re-appointed for a term beginning January 1, 2011 and ending December 31, 2013. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Voting present was Squire Fannin. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to hire Stephen Crawley to the position of Firefighter, Fire Department, replacing Scott Markey who resigned. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to approve the 2011 Holiday

Schedule for county employees. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Moore, for authorization to purchase an eight (8) foot Boss Snow Plow in the amount of \$3,725 and an eight (8) foot Poly Type V Box Spreader in the amount of \$3,100 from Kaffenbarger Truck Equipment Co., total cost \$6,825; with Kaffenbarger Truck Equipment Co. submitting the lowest price quote of three companies. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Fannin, for authorization to purchase one De-Icing Sprayer from Sprayer Specialties, Inc. through state price contract in the amount of \$10,120. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Kring, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to pay the bills. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Judge Collins recognized Sheriff Steve Clark for his service to Franklin County during his term in office. Judge Collins also recognized Squire Pat Fannin for her service as Magistrate, District 4.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to go into closed session to discuss personnel, KRS 61.810 (1), (f). Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to recess to Work Session following the closed session, to review the calendar year 2011 budgets for County Clerk and Sheriff. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Judge Collins announced the swearing-in ceremony for County Officials will be held on Monday, January 3, 2011, at 10:00 a.m. at the Old Capitol on Broadway, with reception to follow at the Capital Plaza Hotel. The January 6, 2011 meeting of Fiscal Court has been rescheduled for Monday, January 3, 2011, with Work Session at 1:00 p.m. followed by Court at 2:00 p.m.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Moore, for authorization to adjourn from Work Session. Motion adopted by voice vote. (Meeting adjourned from work session at 1:42 p.m.)

County Judge/Executive	Fiscal Court Clerk