## FRANKLIN COUNTY FISCAL COURT DECEMBER 29, 2008 9:00 A.M. WORK SESSION/10:00 A.M. COURT

Franklin County Fiscal Court met on Monday, December 29, 2008 in the third floor Fiscal Court Room at 315 West Main Street, Frankfort, KY. The meeting was called to order at 10:13 a.m. with Judge Ted Collins presiding. The following members of Fiscal Court were present: Squire Jill Robinson, Squire Phillip Kring, Squire Don Sturgeon, Squire Ira Fannin, Squire Huston Wells, Squire Lambert Moore. County Attorney Rick Sparks was in attendance.

(A presentation was made by the Environmental and Waste Technology Planning Task Force during the Work Session.)

Following roll call and Pledge of Allegiance, motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Moore, that the reading of the minutes of the regular meeting on December 11, 2008 be dispensed with and approved. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Kring, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to approve the Fee Officials Budget for the Office of the County Clerk for calendar year 2009. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Wells and Judge Collins. Voting in opposition of the motion were Squires Sturgeon, Fannin and Moore. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Kring, seconded by Squire Robinson, for authorization to approve Annual Order Setting Maximum Amount for Deputies and Assistants in the Office of the County Clerk. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Wells and Judge Collins. Voting in opposition of the motion were Squires Sturgeon, Fannin and Moore. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Kring, for authorization to approve the Fee Officials Budget for the Office of the Sheriff for calendar year 2009. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Wells and Judge Collins. Voting in opposition of the motion were Squires Sturgeon, Fannin and Moore. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Robinson, seconded by Squire Kring, for authorization to approve Annual Order Setting Maximum Amount for Deputies and Assistants in the Office of the Sheriff. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Wells and Judge Collins. Voting in opposition of the motion were Squires Sturgeon, Fannin and Moore. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Wells, for second reading and approval of Ordinance #8-2008, amending Ordinance No. 7, 1993 Series, Relating to Joint City-County Planning Commission Reimbursement and Compensation of Planning Commission Members. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Robinson, for second reading and approval of Ordinance #9-2008, amending Ordinance No. 39, 1989 Series, Relating to Joint City-County Board of Adjustment, Reimbursement and Compensation of Members. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Sturgeon, seconded by Squire Fannin, for authorization to approve Resolution #41-

2008 accepting roads in Sections III and IV of the Maples Subdivision (final extension of Forest Ridge Road, final extension of Whites Cliffs Lane, Creekview Drive and Breen Boulevard). Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Moore, for authorization to appoint Randy Thompson as County Road Superintendent, pursuant to KRS 179.020, for a term of two (2) years, beginning Tuesday, January 13, 2009. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Kring, for authorization to appoint Dave Weller to the Capital Community Economic/Industrial Development Authority for a term beginning January 1, 2009 and ending December 31, 2012; replacing Jim Burch who passed away December 2, 2008 and whose term was to end December 31, 2008. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to re-appoint Jack Kuhn and appoint Barbara Fitzgerald to the 4-H positions on the Franklin County Extension Agency for terms beginning January 1, 2009 and ending December 31, 2011; Ms. Fitzgerald replacing Diane Caines whose term ends December 31, 2008. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Moore, seconded by Squire Wells, for authorization to pay the bills. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Present was Squire Sturgeon. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Fannin, seconded by Squire Moore, for authorization to go into closed session to discuss litigation, KRS 61.810 (1), (c), upon adjournment. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed.

Motion by Squire Wells, seconded by Squire Sturgeon, for authorization to adjourn. Voting in favor of the motion were Squires Robinson, Kring, Sturgeon, Fannin, Wells, Moore and Judge Collins. Motion passed. (Meeting adjourned at 10:21 a.m.)

County Judge/Executive	Fiscal Court Clerk