Fire Department

Kevin Hutcherson, Fire Chief

Brian Brewer, Assistant Fire Chief

Franklin County Public Safety Complex 
106 Darbyshire Circle
Frankfort, KY 40601

(502) 695-1617 Phone
(502) 695-4457 Fax

Dawn McDonald, Administrative Assistant

Franklin County Fire Department has 6 stations covering 222 sq. miles strategically located throughout the county.  Currently the Department holds an ISO rating of 2/2Y and provides many additional services for the citizens of Franklin County.

Fire/Rescue Recruitment

Firefighting is a noble and rewarding career that requires teamwork, sacrifice and dedication.

Franklin County Fire Department tests annually to establish a pool of qualified candidates for consideration of future employment. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age and not older than 39 at the application deadline, possess a high school diploma or GED, have a valid driver’s license, be free from a felony conviction and successfully pass a drug screening.  Although not required to apply, applicants must possess a current Candidate Physical Agility Test (CPAT) card in order to be offered a position.

Not required for employment but desirable qualities listed below:


  • Certified KY Firefighter
  • Haz-Mat Tech
  • IFSAC FF1 and FF2
  • College education
  • Military Experience
  • KY EMT